Don’t Give Up on Me

I’m sorry. I’m sorry I keep trying to do things my way. I’m sorry I keep trying to help You. I’m sorry I don’t leave things in Your capable hands. I’m just plain sorry.

When will I learn that You don’t need my help? You created everything, including me. You put me here, in this exact place and time, for a reason. You set things in motion, and I am like a three-year-old child whose “help” gets in the way. You smile lovingly at me, because You know I mean well. You hand me some small task while You handle the real job.

Then I think it’s not working, because what I envisioned hasn’t happened yet. I take matters into my own hands, when You always had it under control. My time line has always been different than Yours, and You make spectacular things happen. Whenever I trust You, the right things fall into place. How do I forget that? Why don’t I remember those times? They only occur when I let You in.

You gave me gifts and talents and set me off on the right path. You pulled me close to You and loved me. You show me glimpses of Your power and make it clear that You want to show that power through me. Little old me! I still have no idea why You want to use someone like me, but You do! It is the most flattering, earth-shattering thought, and somehow isn’t made up or dreamt.

Please keep using me. I will get out of Your way and trust You. When I get discouraged, I will remind myself that Your timeline is not mine. And I will remember Your power and might are great. Show them off through me.

He who began a good work in you will carry it on to completion until the day of Christ Jesus. Philippians 1:6

Linking with Holley Gerth

 

10 thoughts on “Don’t Give Up on Me

  1. Sarah! So glad I’m your neighbor at Holley Gerth’s today. I haven’t visited your blog in a long time. Thanks for sharing this prayer with us this morning. Yes, God’s timeline is different than mine. You’re encouraging me to choose trust.

  2. Sarah, this is such an excellent post today! I also love the scripture you have in your header on the website. It is a favorite of mine. Happy to be your neighbor today at the Linkup at Coffee for Your Heart.

Leave a Reply

