Remember What God Has Done

Some verses jumped out at me from 1 Samuel 17 this week. We all know the story of David and Goliath, but we always get something new when we are looking for it. At least I am starting to!

Saul tells David that he is too young and inexperienced to go against someone as big and fierce as Goliath. All David hears in that is “Blah, blah, blah.” He says to Saul,  “Your servant has been keeping his father’s sheep. When a lion or a bear came and carried off a sheep from the flock, I went after it, struck it and rescued the sheep from its mouth. When it turned on me, I seized it by its hair, struck it and killed it. Your servant has killed both the lion and the bear; this uncircumcised Philistine will be like one of them, because he has defied the armies of the living God. The Lord who rescued me from the paw of the lion and the paw of the bear will rescue me from the hand of this Philistine.”

Wow. I want that faith! I want faith that remembers the times God came through for me and count on Him helping me again. I want to think about God’s faithfulness instead of my circumstances. God has come to my rescue again and again, and I still have doubts somehow.

David has given me the perfect model for dealing with adversity. Instead of shrinking back, I should say, “The Lord who rescued me from_______ will also rescue me from________!” For example, “The Lord who rescued me from heartache and sadness will rescue me from loneliness.” Or “The Lord who rescued me from paying that bill late will rescue me from the financial burden I am in now.”

When we tell the world that we aren’t afraid but are instead trusting God, we are telling Satan to back off or we will unleash God on him. He doesn’t want that! Satan wants us cowering in fear over what MIGHT happen and forgetting what DID happen. He wants us to give up and slink off to the corner to lick our wounds.

Nope. Not me anymore!

The more we think about the times God has come through, the more our faith will grow. The more we look back on the positive outcomes, the greater our trust that it will happen again. Life won’t always turn out the way we want, but as long as our faith is in God, He will work it out for our good and His glory.

And He will help us slay that giant!

Linking with Holley Gerth

12 thoughts on “Remember What God Has Done

  1. Me, too!…”I want to think about God’s faithfulness instead of my circumstances. God has come to my rescue again and again, and I still have doubts somehow.” I want to have total trust too. God has already slain so many giants in my life. He is faithful even when I am not. Thanks for sharing this, Sarah.

  2. David and Goliath was the subject of a recent Sunday sermon … thanks for going there today. So many lessons from that childhood Bible story … especially as we’re facing great big giants today. Thanks, Sarah …

  3. This is great! I love when familiar Bible passages teach us new things. And that’s a great idea to take David’s words and fill in our own situations that God has rescued us from in the past. It definitely gives us courage and faith for current situations.

  4. Sarah,
    That is so true that we sometimes avoid difficulty and adversity yet those are the very ways we can grow our feeble faith into something strong and God-honoring. I just love the story of David, it always has something new to show me, no matter how many times I’ve read it! 🙂

  5. Amen Sarah!! This has been my thought lately too as I attempt some hard things coming up. It’s not belief in me or my abilities, but my abilities through Christ who strengthens me-a big difference! Loved this!

Leave a Reply

