Step Up Our Game

This is one of those posts that I am writing for myself. Feel free to imagine you are reading my personal journal! I know it is universal, so I will share with you what I am learning.

Over the weekend I have wrestled with something. I heard some words that I took to be harsh – maybe they were a wake up call. I have grown comfortable and was called out on it. I fought it and felt angry for a full day. Sleep did not want to come and I did NOT want to accept this as truth.

Let’s be honest: Satan is doing everything he can to keep us from fulfilling our calling. He wants us doing the bare minimum and justifying it as “Hey, I’m doing more than other people are.” He knows he lost the war, but he also knows he can win some battles still. He can keep us complacent and not very effective. He also knows we like to tell ourselves that we are doing everything we can. (Or is that just me?)

Whether or not we are in the end times, things have gotten worse. We can all agree on that. Satan has stepped up his game, so it is time to step up ours. He is pushing more for a “me” mentality and we need to counter with a “you” mentality. So many people are hurting or lost and they need our friendship. The world needs to always remember there is a God who loves them, and we are just the ones to show them.

Eventually, I gave up and thought, “OK God. You win! I will step up and do this bigger thing.” But that isn’t what He wants to hear. God wants me all in, not in by default or in by guilt. If I am not all in, I am out. If I allow any bitterness to take root, I may as well step aside. I would be hurting the Kingdom of God and I don’t want to do that. I want to go out into the world and be a light. I want to show nonbelievers that the difference between me and them is Jesus. I want to show them that no matter what I have done, I am cherished and accepted. They can be too. Isn’t that what the world is searching high and low for?

If you are doing something because you feel like it is the right thing to do or because you feel like you have to, I ask you to stop. Pray and ask God to change your heart and help you be all in. He is waiting to take you places you never even dared to dream about!

If you want to read my latest guest post on marriage, you can find it here!

Linking with Holley Gerth

6 thoughts on “Step Up Our Game

  1. So true, God wants us all in! It’s so easy to get ‘busy’ or complacent and miss what God has for us. Thanks for sharing and your encouragement!

  2. Hi Sarah,
    I think we wrestle with some things sometimes so we can realize where we stand and usually it’s that we’re in need of God’s strength and wisdom. I know God changes our hearts if we’re willing to step aside and let him do the constructing and renovation work we need! This encourages us all!

    1. The whole “stepping aside” thing is so hard, isn’t it? But I am so thankful that God gives me the opportunity to think on and wrestle with ideas before I say yes. 🙂

Leave a Reply

