We Know How It Ends

Last weekend, the girls and I watched Miracles from Heaven. What a powerful movie! Amidst all the crying, something really jumped out at me.

For those who haven’t seen the movie, it is a true story of a little 10 year old girl, Anna, who gets sick. Her mom fights for her because doctors keep misdiagnosing her. They finally realize she has a rare disorder for which there is no cure. Then one day Anna falls 3 stories and lands on her head. She is cured! It’s a miracle! I swear, between the three of us, the word “Aww” was spoken 873 times. OK, I didn’t count, but it was said constantly.

Throughout the movie, I had to keep telling the girls to remember that we know how it ends. At the beginning of the movie, I had one child next to me. By the end, she was on my lap and her sister was right up next to me. We all cried several times. The only way I could keep them from completely losing it was to keep reassuring them that little Anna was going to be healed.

At some point during the movie, I heard what God was trying to tell me. I tend to forget the same thing in life. I KNOW HOW IT IS GOING TO END. God has won! Satan has been defeated! All the little things in life that make me sad, mad, frustrated, and anything but happy will not last forever. They are so temporary, they are just a bloop on God’s radar. He only really notices them because I do and they cause me grief.

One day, every tear will be wiped away and order will be restored. There will be pain now, but it really won’t stay long. We just have to keep remembering that we know how this is going to end. We will be in heaven with Jesus and none of this stuff will matter anymore. I don’t know about you, but that puts things in perspective when I stop to think about it.

While the end has been determined, the middle is still going on. We still have much to do and knowing that God has won should free up our energy for doing good. Satan knows he won’t get a do over, but he likes to convince us he will. Let’s do all we can to point others to the Winner. Let’s live lives that show we know how this is going to end!

Linking with Holley Gerth

 

6 thoughts on “We Know How It Ends

Leave a Reply

