Wide Open Spaces

Last week was the first vacation we have had in 2016. I was so happy to have the first night away in a year! I decided to take a break from writing for the week as I was feeling dry and without words. (For anyone who knows me, that takes a lot!) Just like my week off last year, I brought a notebook so I could write if I found words. And just like that other time, I didn’t think about cracking it once. Rest and time away is so good for the soul.

The four of us stayed in a condo on the Gulf side of Florida for a few nights and had a great time. The highlight was showing our girls where Mommy and Daddy got married almost 13 years ago. The girls did not fight or complain the whole night. It was a true miracle! We recreated wedding pictures, using two children and an iPhone. They didn’t even complain about seeing their parents kiss. πŸ™‚

One of the things I love about the ocean is the way it makes me feel. When I look out over the water and it seems endless, I feel so small. The earth has been here for so many years and it will be here until Jesus comes back. All of the problems I had been thinking about melt away when I think about how many other people have gone through it and come out on the other side of it. My issues aren’t new or different, regardless of what I tell myself. Even the times that seem hopeless are going to work out.

On this trip, I saw three things that always bring me peace: the ocean, a sky filled with stars, and big fields. Not only do these things make me feel connected to God who created them and me, but they remind me that the more things change, the more they stay the same. Perspective is such an important part of life and seem to also be the first thing we lose when life gets busy. I love my job and taking care of my family, but I need to remember to breathe and enjoy the moment.

For me, just glancing at anything big in nature causes me to let out the breath I didn’t realize I had been holding. It calms me and helps me remember what is important in life. What does the same for you?

Linking with Holley Gerth

6 thoughts on “Wide Open Spaces

  1. Sarah, what a beautiful spot for your wedding! We are so glad that the girls could see where it all took place!
    As we walk the beach as often as we can here at St. Simons, we are always amazed by the ever changing power of the ocean. Twice each day we witness the effects of a 6-9 foot tide as it moves not only on the beach, but also into the marshes. When the tide moves out of the marsh it carries with it the noutrients that feed the shrimp out in the ocean! Boy, those are good shrimp!
    We are glad you had a wonderful week at the beach.
    I love you,
    Dad

    1. They really liked seeing it. Lauren enjoyed it more as Kaitlyn was distracted by the beach playground they now have.
      We did have the best wedding surrounded by family. Love you too!

  2. Oh … I just LOVE those before and after pics! And yes, you’re so right, Sarah. Sometimes we just have to put away our keyboards and journals and pens and go live life unemcombered.

    1. We get into thinking about what we are going to write about next and forget to see what is in front of us. I hate to think of what passes me by!
      I love the pictures too!

  3. Sarah,
    So glad you got the vacation in while the weather was still good! πŸ™‚ I feel the same way you describe. When I get away and enjoy God’s beauty, it seems as if my challenges fade into the background. I guess that’s why we all savor vacations so much — it feels so wonderful! Glad your girls got to experience special place of your wedding, too! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

