Sugar and Spice With a Touch of Sass

My daughter continues to blow me away. She inspires me in ways generally reserved for much older and wiser people. She LOVES to give. The child is broke on a regular basis, but when she does get a dollar, she gives it away.

Recently I handed Lauren a few dollars for helping me babysit. She had been saying how she had no money, so silly me thought she might save it. Nope. We were at the register at Lifeway Christian Store (my toy store) and she took one of those bills and put it in a little donation box they had. She didn’t care where the money was going and just wanted to help.

The next week, we were at the beach. We ordered her a Shirley Temple and she loved it. When our waiter brought her a refill, she told me she wanted to tip him a dollar. I made sure to get his attention so she could (somewhat awkwardly) hand it to him. The look on his face when a ten year old tipped him was priceless! He ended up bringing her a container of grenadine. 🙂

img_4373

Two nights later, we were at an open air event. There was a man playing a guitar quietly in the background next to his guitar case. Lauren walked right up to him and put a dollar in the case. He was so shocked! He told me to have her take it back and that he wasn’t here for that. I told him she wanted him to have it. Lauren turned to me and said she likes to see people’s faces when she gives.

In case you think I am saying this because I think I am a great parent, know this. I have 2 children. The other daughter doesn’t give nearly as much as her sister. If you look at it this way, we are batting .500. They both have their strengths, such as Kaitlyn is good at making cat noises. All I can do is encourage them both!

This is also not saying Lauren is perfect. She loves to spend some money at Justice, the clothing store for tween girls. She loves anything “super cute.” I constantly hear “Mom, why do people think sassy girls talk like that?” when I mimic her. (For the record, I say it in my Valley Girl voice. I don’t know where this sassy girl thing came from. Do kids now not know about that? Sad.) She seems to have the right idea though. She loves to shop and loves to give. It appears to be equal.

Sometimes it takes kids to show us how to act. My daughter keeps me giving freely. She gives with true joy and just wants to make people smile. What can you learn from your child?

Linking with Holley Gerth.

6 thoughts on “Sugar and Spice With a Touch of Sass

  1. What a beautiful heart for giving your Lauren has been blessed with! Believe me, it’s a blessing to give easily and often. I love her reasoning for giving–so she can see the face of the recipient :).

  2. Yes sometimes it does take kids to show us how to act. I’m amazed at our 3-year old grandson and how he hops up out of bed saying “Good morning”, and thank you when you bake at cake or something he likes. We can all take lessons from kids.

Leave a Reply

