Little Gestures Add Up

weddingsand

As today is our thirteenth wedding anniversary, I thought I would write about something I have learned. Yeah, it might not be a long post….

What has struck me lately is how much I appreciate the little things. (I also am easily amused. Do those traits go together?) I love when my husband does something that he knows makes me happy, like washing the dishes after grilling dinner. He also knows I love hydrangeas and bought me a tea towel with hydrangeas on it for Mother’s Day. Seeing that on display makes me very happy! When we pay attention to the little things that make our spouse tick, it makes a huge difference.

For my part, I like to buy James his favorite candy or make him cookies that he loves. Nothing is better than seeing him smile at the end of a long day! I included this picture from our wedding because James said he loves it. I try to remember things like that and tuck them away. None of these things cost much, but they have a great payoff. When we do even the little things out of love, it shows. The other person sees how much they are loved and thought of all day.

Every Friday morning during the school year, we get the girls on the bus and go to Chick-Fil-A for breakfast. It is kind of like a mini date at a time in our lives where we don’t get big nights out often. As much as I love getting dressed up and going to a fancier restaurant, I love our morning dates! They sustain us through the many months we don’t get the bigger ones.

We all hear of the grand gestures, which are great. The world needs those, but they don’t get us through the day to day. The unsung heroes of gestures are the ones that are small and add up to a great life. This includes the people who make coffee for their spouse every morning. It is also the people who pay attention to the acts of service or types of activities their spouse enjoys and then does them without being asked and without expecting fanfare. Just to make them happy. Just to make them laugh.

What things can you do for your spouse that would have the most meaning for them? What would show them that you see them and love them more than anyone else on the earth? Figure that out and go do it. Every day if you can.

Linking with Holley Gerth

 

6 thoughts on “Little Gestures Add Up

  1. Sarah,
    I love seeing this photo of you on your wedding day – – you are radiant with joy! And how pretty it must have been to get married at the beach. 🙂 I think it’s so fun that you set aside time to go to Chick-fil-A together (and who doesn’t love their chicken biscuits for breakfast?!) and look forward to just being in each other’s company. I somehow think that is the right prescription for a long and happy marriage! xo

  2. Beautiful picture! I can see why it’s one of your husband’s favorites :). I love the idea of your weekly chick-fil-a morning dates. My hubby and I need a set date like that. It’s always shocking how much time can quickly slip by in between our dates. Thanks for the inspiration, Sarah! It really is the little things that mean so much.

Leave a Reply

