Deeply Satisfying

Even those with the best of intentions can be led astray. Can I get an Amen? The good part is that we have a loving God who wants a relationship with us. He wants our hearts and our devotion. He keeps correcting us and guiding us, but as we see in the Bible, there comes a time when the goodwill stops.

David was a man after God’s own heart. He spent his life seeking God and trusting. When David was caught in sin, he repented and begged for forgiveness. He didn’t care how he looked when he was praising God; he just did it. David had sin issues, but the most destructive issue of a lack of humility or dependence on God was not one of them.

David’s son, Solomon, had great promise. Because of how much God loved David, he told Solomon to ask for whatever he wanted. Instead of great wealth or power, Solomon asked for wisdom. (I am not sure that would be my first wish, but I hope it would at least be in my top 3.) God was so pleased, He gave him wisdom AND riches and honor. Solomon was set! All he had to do was walk with God.

Solomon had everything he could want. (Except indoor plumbing. That might have been a deal breaker for me.) There was peace, which his father fought his whole life to attain. He had all the food he needed and much more. There were also lots of ladies. Apparently too many ladies.

According to 1 Kings 11, Solomon had 700 wives and 300 concubines. They were from nations that God had told the Israelites not to marry, as they could pull the Israelites away from God. If one could pull a heart away from God, think about the damage that hundreds could do. So Solomon, aka the wisest man alive, disobeyed God. God gave him opportunities to turn back and repent, but not forever.

King Solomon may have been wise, but it didn’t do him any good when his heart was not right with God. He worshiped other gods. He broke God’s heart.

The other day when I was thinking about David and Solomon, the words that came to me were deeply satisfying. All David needed was God. He would be out in a cave, running for his life, but he only needed God. He was afraid for his life, but he always knew God was on his side. All the wisdom in the world means nothing when you stop seeking after God.

This is what I want in my life. I want to run after God with all my heart and not get sidetracked. I want to always remember that He is all I need. I want to desire nothing so much as I desire God. He is mine and I am His. We go together like peanut butter and jelly, macaroni and cheese, and cornbread and milk. (Maybe that last one is just me.)

God is all I need. In Him, I am deeply satisfied.

Linking with Holley Gerth

8 thoughts on “Deeply Satisfying

  1. “All the wisdom in the world means nothing when you stop seeking after God.” This sentence sums it up. We can know the right things to do but if we’re not seeking God we’ll drift in the wrong direction. It always makes me sad to read stories like Solomon’s- he is doing so well in following God and then it all goes so badly wrong. I want to keep seeking him and finish well!

  2. Oh how quickly we forget that God is all we need. It’s so easy to get caught up filling our lives with all kinds of things and forgetting to ask for the most important things. Good reminder!

  3. Fascinating that even when God grants us the deepest desires of our hearts, we’re still never satisfied, we still go our own way.

    What a merciful Savior we have, who pursues us and claims us as His own …

Leave a Reply

