Necessary Luxury

It’s that time of year again. The end of October. School is in full swing and Christmas is right around the corner. Now is the perfect time.

Rest.

Even if you have to force yourself, do it. Find a way to take something off your plate or say no to the next person who asks you to help. We can only do so much, and our families need us. Don’t take my word on how important rest is. Here are some verses and quotes.

Matthew 11:28-30. “Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.”

Isaiah 26:3 You will keep in perfect peace all who trust in you, all whose thoughts are fixed on you!

Elisabeth Elliot: “Work is a blessing. God has so arranged the world that work is necessary, and He gives us hands and strength to do it. The enjoyment of leisure would be nothing if we had only leisure. It is the joy of work well done that enables us to enjoy rest, just as it is the experiences of hunger and thirst that make food and drink such pleasures.”

Mark Buchanan: “Most of the things we need to be most fully alive never come in busyness. They grow in rest.”

Alan Cohen: “There is virtue in work and there is virtue in rest. Use both and overlook neither.”

Charles Spurgeon: “Rest time is not waste time. It is economy to gather fresh strength… It is wisdom to take occasional furlough. In the long run, we shall do more by sometimes doing less.”

Shirley Conran: “I make no secret of the fact that I would rather lie on a sofa than sweep beneath it.”

I hope that some of these words sink in and you go off with a book, a blanket, and a cup of coffee or tea. If you don’t take the time for yourself, no one else will!

6 thoughts on “Necessary Luxury

  1. Thanks for this Sarah-
    God is teaching me how to rest- I didn’t realize it was so hard for me till I was forced to do it through sickness- ! These are great verses and quotes! Blessings!

  2. Sarah,
    Ironic! Ramping up for the holidays and you say it’s the perfect time to rest – what an intriguing idea! What would we do if we didn’t rush around from one holiday to the next? Maybe we’d take the time to savor, relish and enjoy — God and those who he put in our lives. Love this!

  3. Oh, boy! My post tomorrow is about rest :). Maybe God is gently reminding me that I need to take my own advice (doing the #write31days challenge makes October pretty hectic). I’m ready for some rest!

Leave a Reply

