Choose to Help

Three days ago, I fell to my knees. I cried out to God to help me, but I am not sure I expected Him to. When I search, God finds me and yet I still doubt. One of these days, I will get better at believing!

My trouble is that it is easier to understand nonbelievers doubting my faith than other Christians. If someone doesn’t have Jesus in them, then they automatically won’t understand my beliefs. I get that. What I find happening lately is Christians going at each others’ throats. We keep arguing over issues that are hard to grasp. We tell others they must not really know God if they don’t think the exact same thing we do. We tear each other down in Jesus’ name. The whole thing gets to me.

On Tuesday morning, I couldn’t take it any more. It is hard to know how to respond to verbal assaults while maintaining my claim to Christianity. I don’t ever want a nonbeliever to see my actions and be turned away. None of us want that, but we still speak and act in haste. I poured my aching heart to God to help me stand up for Him in a way that brings Him glory. I felt despair at the world. After I finished, I got up to get ready for work.

My whole prayer to God that day was one of helplessness. I felt there was nothing I could do to bring people together and help show His love. We seem so fractured these days and it brings me such sadness.

Less than an hour later, I received an email that brought me tears of joy. Our family has had a project with Food for the Poor for almost 2 years. We had set out to raise $1,895 to provide a family in Central or South American with 2 goats, 1 donkey, 2 cows, 3 pigs, 20 chicks, and 1 beehive. The email I received congratulated me that we had just had our last donation and completed it. We did it!

As I recovered from crying for a second time in an hour, I felt God telling me that I actually am doing what I can to help. I am not responsible for other people’s actions and beliefs. I can only do as I feel led and let them see. When I do my part, it is up to them to do their part.

Helping those in need and showing them that they are seen and cared for is a huge part of what being a Christian is all about. When we get caught up in arguments with each other, it diminishes all the good being done. People on the outside begin to only see our bad side and not our love.

It is easy to feel discouraged in this world. There is so much pain and sadness and need that we feel useless. We can’t do everything, but we can all do something. We can look outside of ourselves and fulfill the needs of the hurting and helpless. We can restore their hope and give them something to believe in. Let’s choose to serve others!

Linking with Holley Gerth

2 thoughts on “Choose to Help

  1. Thanks for sharing your adventure, and for being out of step with a broken culture. Yes, even the Christian culture is broken. So, who would want to be normal? You and your family have accomplished something really notable and you should celebrate it. You are doing an important work and you should stick to it.

Leave a Reply

