Surrender

Our pastor got up Sunday and preached about how Jesus came for each of us. He said many powerful things, but the word that keeps going through my head since then is the one he had us write down next to our notes: surrender. Then my devotion the next morning was about surrendering as well.

I get it.

I need to surrender. I like to make plans. Don’t we all? Things have been going on in my life lately that are not in my control-as if anything really is. Since the ideas I have for my future are good and God honoring, I was assuming they are what HE wants. I tend to put my thoughts and desires on God.

The other day, God threw a “wait” sign in my face. Before I go barreling down the path I am on, I need to stop. If this is what God wants, it will happen. He may have something better for my family and I.

No matter what plans I try to make, I need to always hold them loosely. They aren’t mine, because everything is God’s. My future is His. My family is His. My intentions need to always reflect that fact.

The word “surrender” needs to always be on my heart and be something I am willing to do. If I can surrender my plan to God, He will honor that and bring me to the best path. He will use me to glorify His name. However, if I still go along with my original plan, disaster may happen. At the very least, I may be left out of God’s will and not receive the blessing He had for me.

My plans may sound best for me, but what do I know? I didn’t create the universe and put stars in the sky. I didn’t make the ocean and animals and all of mankind. I certainly don’t coordinate everything that happens every second of every day. That is all God, and I am all His. I am all in. I surrender.

As I was working on finishing this, Ecclesiastes 11:5 was my verse of the day. I can’t think of a better way to put it! “As you do not know the path of the wind, or how the body is formed in a mother’s womb, so you cannot understand the work of God, the Maker of all things.”

All to Jesus I surrender. How about you?

Linking with Holley Gerth

8 thoughts on “Surrender

  1. Sarah,
    I think we all have tendencies to run ahead and think what we want to do must be what God wants us to do. But when we pause and ask, sometimes the answer is different and I know when you take time to reflect, that he will make his plans clear for you to proceed!

  2. Surrender has been my word for 2016. It has led me to some places I would not have expected and while it’s been difficult times, there have been blessings I’d never have imagined. I’m definitely still a work in progress but God’s plans are much better than our own.

    1. Surrender is a great word, but one of the hardest. God’s road is always the best one, even if it doesn’t seem it. When we follow it and surrender, we have amazing stories, don’t we?

Leave a Reply

