Love Deeply

The events of the last week were big in our family and I have a feeling I will be unpacking them and learning from them for a long time. Here is the first thing I have witnessed. Love truly makes all the difference.

I was recently reminded of 1 Peter 4:7-8. “The end of all things is near. Therefore be alert and of sober mind so that you may pray. Above all, love each other deeply, because love covers over a multitude of sins.” It can be easy to gloss over this and think we love, but do we? The word love is so overused and thrown around carelessly that its meaning is worn away. I sure hope I love my family more than pizza and chocolate!

Love is meant to be a verb. If we truly mean we love people, we have to show it. We have to let them know often lest they forget. Love means we don’t ever give up on people, for it is relentless and overwhelming if it is shown right. People we love are always on our minds and in our hearts.

I won’t say we saw a miracle this weekend, but hopefully it is the start of one. We have been praying and communicating love for 3 years which led to a glimmer of hope for the future of a family member. For the first 2 years, I at times felt like I was drowning in a sea of despair for what we used to have. I marinated in fear and dread for days at what the future was leading to. But I kept praying and loving. Praying and loving. Praying and loving. I literally would pray that my love would be felt.

This past year felt even more hopeless as there was no return communication. I was afraid something bad had happened, but I knew I couldn’t give up. Love holds on. I knew God was working and had to keep reminding myself of that.

Well, the other day, I not only heard from this person, but we got to see them. There has been nothing but anger and disappointment but now there is love again. The heartache is still strong, but that glimmer of hope is growing brighter. Some of the disillusionment has gone away because love is stronger than anything that tests it.

At the end of the day, loving well is the most important thing. If someone in your life has gone on a different path than you would have chosen for them, never give up. There is always hope because love overcomes. Keep praying and loving and let God work it out.

Linking with Holley Gerth

 

12 thoughts on “Love Deeply

  1. At the end of the day loving well is what matters. Yes indeed lady! Keep praying for that family member and don’t give up hope. Our God is a Redeemer of so many broken things. Rejoicing with you for the glimmer of hope you got recently. xoxo

  2. What a beautiful testimony, Sarah. I am so happy for you. Thank you for the reminder that marinating ‘in fear and dread’ does nothing for us but send us to despair.

    Merry Christmas to you and your sweet family …

  3. Sounds like a Christmas miracle to me! You were faithful in praying and loving. Isn’t that always what God wants from us? Thanks for sharing this encouraging story, Sarah! Praying the doors continue to open in relationship with this person.

  4. Oh my goodness, Sharon! This is my first time visiting your blog and I am so encouraged AND challenged by what you’ve written here. Thank you for reminding us that love is an action word. I’m happy to hear that you were able to continue to persist in love and did not give up, even when things looked completely dismal. I’m glad the Lord has given you a glimmer of light that things are being turned around now. So happy for you!

    Your story is a real testimony for me. I have a similar trial and I hope and pray that I will continue to believe God for change and love this person through it. Thank you for encouraging me today, my dear sister.

    I stopped over from #coffeeforyourheart.

    Merry Christmas,
    Tiffiney
    WelcomeHomeMinistry.com

Leave a Reply

