Not Everyone

I want people to like me. There, I said it.

We aren’t supposed to care about people’s opinions, but I know many of us do. It’s human nature. If only we could turn a blind eye to their judgment. If only it didn’t sting the way it does.

One of the verses that comes to mind when I think about this topic is Galatians 1:10. “Am I now trying to win the approval of human beings, or of God? Or am I trying to please people? If I were still trying to please people, I would not be a servant of Christ.” If we were looking to have everyone like us, first of all, it would never happen. No matter what, some people just are going to turn up their nose at friendship with each of us. Whether they know us or not, nothing we do will make a difference. But it is easy to get into the habit of agreeing with them to win them over in some foolish attempt. We can get trapped in a choice or even a lifestyle that really isn’t who we are all in the name of “friendship.”

The type of friendship where we change who we are to please someone is in quotes because it is an illusion. We may think we see it, but they don’t and the rest of the world doesn’t either. It is all in our heads.

Another chapter that tells me how to handle this is in Ephesians. Ephesians 5:15-16 says, “Be very careful, then, how you liveβ€”not as unwise but as wise,Β making the most of every opportunity, because the days are evil.” If these verses were true 2,000 years ago, think how much more true they are today! The days are evil because Satan is out there roaming around, looking for an easy target. He wants us off balance and searching for love and companionship. He will provide it, but it won’t help us. It will only ensnare us into a life we don’t want. By the time we realize that, it’s often too late.

We all like to think that we are out of danger in this area once we aren’t teenagers anymore. Honestly though, I struggle with this more now than I did in high school. Back then, the stakes were lower and life was simpler. (You couldn’t have told me that then though!) Now I have a husband and children, a job, and bills to pay. It is so much easier to do something the easy way with no one knowing. It is so much easier to say what another mom wants to hear so she will like me.

Bottom line is that we must stay strong. We need to keep seeking God and knowing what HE says is right. We need to stay on the straight and narrow path even when people we want to please are going a different direction. With tenacity and prayer, maybe those people will come over to our path. Our eternal future depends on us staying the course, and so does theirs.

Linking with Holley Gerth

22 thoughts on “Not Everyone

  1. Hi Sarah- thanks for this! So true as sometimes those high school feeling of fitting in still fall hard on me!! And I feel like I don’t belong! Thankful for Jesus and His truth and love for me- need to stay there and soak it up so I won’t go looking in other places ! Thanks for this reminder and your honesty here! Blessings (love seeing your sweet girls on Instagram too!)

  2. This was great. I know I always want people to like me, so it hit close to home. With writing and speaking, it gets a little fuzzy, but I must remember to keep my focus on pleasing God not man.

  3. Oh yes, I’m still learning this too, and I think I’m a few years down the road from you, Sarah. : ) But I get transported back to Middle School (or High School) all too often. As you say, the stakes are higher now. But I’m choosing to rest in His love.

  4. Feeling invisible…oh yes, I know the feeling – but it is just THAT, a feeling. The FACT is we are all somebody in the eyes of our good, good Father. Your neighbor at Holley’s.

  5. Hi Sarah,
    First, we all really do like you! πŸ™‚ I know you probably weren’t talking about us πŸ™‚ but I can relate to the ease of agreeing with someone or just going with the flow to avoid conflict or have them think good things about us. And I think you may be a little too hard on yourself . . . I don’t think wanting others to like us is just for teenagers! πŸ™‚ In fact, we may just love you! xoxo

    1. You all are my peeps! πŸ™‚ You get me, more than most. I am so glad I found this community to give me courage and remind me that others believe the same things. Thank you for being my friend, Valerie!

    1. I forget that God’s love is more important than admiration from peers. This is probably because they are in my face while God is patiently waiting for me to come talk to Him. I just need to remember to seek HIS face. πŸ™‚

  6. Such truth here Sarah, and yes, I often think things are more difficult as we age. But at the same time, every lesson we learn will hopefully make our faith and trust in following Him stronger! Thanks for the great reminders.

  7. So thankful to know I’m not the only one who seems to need the approval of man. That frailty is a reminder of my personal weakness. I don’t understand how I can love Jesus more and more, and still crave fleshly acceptance. Thanks for your candor and encouragement, Sarah!

  8. I want people to like me too. Whew, it feels good to say that. πŸ™‚ I can tell you one thing dear girl, as much as you say it gets harder as we get older (this is total truth), the opposite is also true – as we get older we learn more from the mistakes we make, we try less to pretend to be what we think others want us to be, etc. And there is much freedom in that. Someone wise once told me, it’s not the quantity of your friendships that matter, it’s the quality. What I lack in quantity I make up for in quality. And that is the beauty of friendship as we age. So hang in there. And stay true to who you are and what God has created you to be! xoxo

    1. I do have a few great friendships and have learned along the way that others don’t matter. It still gets me sometimes though. Just when I think I am over it. Ha! Guess we are never really over part of who we are!
      I always love when you come by and chat πŸ™‚

  9. Oh Sarah, you speak truth! Who among us doesn’t wrestle with this, sometimes daily? Thanks for taking us all to the heart of the matter today. We needed it more than we’d like to admit …

Leave a Reply

