Children are More Important Than Adults

Every year, more than 400,000 children are in the foster care system in the United States. Let that sink in. Hundreds of thousands of children are removed from their homes. The reasons may be different, but the outcome is the same: confusion, fear, anger, and loneliness. Many kids go back home, but many don’t.

The foster care system has been on my heart for some time now. My heart breaks when I think of a child who wants love and stability. Maybe they had it and it was taken away, but maybe they have never had it. There must be an ache deep inside that they carry around. It must be brutal.

My husband and I have been talking about it and may decide to foster. For now I want us to go through the training so the girls and I can babysit foster kids. I know parents can’t just have anyone watch their kids, so that is one way we can help.

Our latest idea is one that we will need help to do! Birthdays should be celebrated for every one, especially children. We all have a need to feel special, seen, and loved. We want to know that someone remembers our birthday! People who choose to foster children have a burden on them and paying regular bills stretches them. Even if they want to spoil the child for their birthday, they can’t always do it financially. That must break their hearts. That is where we come in.

We want to serve foster parents by helping with birthday gifts. I know where we live there is help with school supplies at the beginning of the school year as well as assistance at Christmas. There should be at birthdays too. We should celebrate that these children came into the world! They should feel appreciated and wanted, especially if they never have before.

Our family babysits to raise money, so our new project is to help foster kids gain self esteem through their birthday. No child should wonder if anyone cares. We need your help though! We need to know of foster parents who need help with birthday presents. We also need people to help us provide those gifts. You can email me to let me know if you are interested in buying a gift or if you know of a foster family in need. You can mail the actual gift to me or a check to cover it, because I know fostering is a sensitive issue. I will be the only one to know the recipient’s address. My email is intentionalspending3@gmail.com. In the future I also plan on putting needs on our Facebook page. You can like it to start receiving notifications.

I believe we all want to help others. Many are worried about the state of the world and don’t know what they can do. I think we all have good intentions, but when all we have are intentions, nothing gets done. Let’s dig in and show these kids that they aren’t alone. Please help us reach kids who just want love!

Linking with Holley Gerth

9 thoughts on “Children are More Important Than Adults

  1. What a beautiful idea! Praying for your success. When I was in college, I was trained to help foster parents. I can’t remember the official name, but I remember staying a weekend while the foster parents got a much-needed break. It was an eye opener for me. I love your idea.

    1. Thank you so much for your prayers! We need God to bring us the right kids to help.
      I love that you wanted to help in college. That is generally such a selfish time. I am sure it changed your life to see the challenge parents face and the need that is out there!

  2. I stand with you as this is a subject the Lord is pressing on me to be more vocal about locally. Loved your post and praying with you! Found you on Holly Gerth’s link party!

  3. Sarah,
    I applaud you for thinking about fostering and starting down the road with approval to babysit. What a wise way to explore and see if this is a good option for you and your family! I also love the idea of remembering a child’s birthday as a way to affirm, encourage and celebrate them. I look forward to hearing more about it and I love how you’re always dreaming of ways to help those in need — I love that about you! xoxo

Leave a Reply

