Interrupt Me

Two weeks ago, I asked God to interrupt my life.

That is a dangerous thing to ask.

Since then, I can definitely say God did what I asked. I have been challenged. Things have come up which means others have had to be dropped. My pride issue has been confronted. My rigidity with regard to my schedule has become glaringly obvious.

About 2 days after asking God to interrupt me, He laid a big idea on my heart that I wrestled with all night. I thought, “Really? Don’t I have enough going on already?” My priorities had to be reevaluated and adjusted accordingly. This is too important to be ignored. Honestly though, this is already a busy season in my life. If it has to be a bit busier for the time being, I trust God to get me through with a shred of sanity left.

Since I started this blog, I have written on Tuesdays and Fridays. This is not just so people know when to come over, but I also like things to go according to schedule and to be neat. I like having lists and order. However, on Friday, I played hooky.

My husband took the day off work to spend it with me. We went to see a movie. We talked and maintained our friendship. We had lunch without the kids. I am thankful for this interruption. I am thankful for my husband wanting to spend time with me. Most of all, I am thankful for the life I have been given and the chance to see how it can be improved.

On Friday, not only did I not publish a post on here, I also laid down my lists. The floor stayed dirty. Dishes stayed in the sink from breakfast. Instead, I read 200 pages in a book I had been looking forward to. The things that normally call out to me had to wait. Except laundry. Laundry couldn’t wait.

Now, I am not saying everyone reading this should ask God to interrupt their lives. If you aren’t feeling that call, then it isn’t right for you. But I know we all get caught up in life and forget to come up for air. We have routines and lists and miss the opportunities that come up all around us. When that happens, who knows what we could have changed or prevented?

What I am saying is that you need to make sure you pay attention to who and what are around you. Don’t take your loved ones or the life you have for granted. Take the chances that come up instead of letting them pass you by. You won’t regret it!

Linking with Holley Gerth

10 thoughts on “Interrupt Me

  1. Trying to listen in the small spaces too lately-loved this. It’s not about our plan, but His. Happy to share! Are you on twitter?

    Jill Hoven RN MemoryMinders Director (262)707-9387

    >

  2. I find such safety in routine that it can be hard to let them go but I agree with you that there are times the interruption is more important than the schedule. Glad you listened to that voice.

  3. I am not a schedule person. Perhaps a loose schedule. But I lived with a mom who was. I’m sure your family enjoyed your day free of schedules. I know I cherished the moments when my mom broke away from hers and saw us, played with us, and was spontaneous.
    Husbands are good for not having to be on a tight schedule. Sometimes that’s a bit unnerving when there’s a lot to do but I know usually they help inject a lighter side to life

  4. love it when we let God shake our routines and schedules up a bit. that’s where the doors begin to open wide, isn’t it!

    a wonderful post, friend. i’m in this season with you.

  5. It is a dangerous thing to ask but it is exciting to see what happens when we lay down our plans and schedules and leave space for God to direct us. I need to do this more too!

Leave a Reply

