Rest and a Birthday

Last week was Spring Break (Woo-Hoo!) All four of us stayed home for the week while it seemed like everyone else went to the beach or the mountains. Personally, I would rather save the beach for summer when the water has a chance of being warm!

The weather did not cooperate as we had 2 days of terrible storms followed by 2 days of wind and cold. This week is sunny and 80 degrees. It figures, now that we are all back at work and school. The weather did give me a chance to read lots and lay around. It wasn’t all bad. ๐Ÿ™‚

We had wanted to hike more, but we did get some time on trailsย 2 of the days. It was wonderful and breezy. We relaxed as a family and ate dinner outside a few times. I think my husband grilled 5 of the nights. I lost track of how many times.

hiking

Then yesterday was our oldest’s eleventh birthday! Spring Break always falls on her birthday, so this was the first time she has had school on it. Poor baby! The rude awakening we all had at waking up early again was tempered by the fact that we got donuts on the way to school. Lauren wanted to take some to her classmates, so we had to suffer along with her. The things we do in the name of birthdays.

Last night we celebrated her birth with family. She wanted wings and cookie cake. Who am I to argue with that? (Donuts, wings, and cookie cake. The birthday of champions, I always say.)

Nothing shows more the range in maturity of an eleven year old (gulp, 11?) than what Lauren got for her birthday. She went shopping for clothes at Justice with her Grandma last week. She loves clothes and looking cute. From us, she really wanted a newborn baby doll. Neither of my girls has ever really played with dolls, so this was a surprise. She wants to babysit and one day (in her 20’s or 30’s is what she says) have kids of her own. She wants a baby to practice on. How cute is that? I am more than happy to keep her innocent as long as I can!

Time is flying by, and mostly I feel like I am holding on by the seat of my pants. But every so often, I get the chance to push pause. I get to run with my girls, shop with them, and enjoy time as a family without the pressures of school. I also get to read books that have been calling to me. These times are so important as all too soon they will be nothing more than a memory. I want us to look back and smile at the joy we found in these years.

Have you pushed pause recently?

Linking with Holley Gerth

6 thoughts on “Rest and a Birthday

  1. I’m glad you had a good break, and it sounds like a great birthday celebration too. Time to pause is important. The last few weeks have been really busy for me but this week is calmer so it’s nice to have some more space and be able to slow down a bit.

  2. There’s a lot to be said for taking a staycation! I went to the beach with some friends a couple weeks ago and it was freezing. Much better to wait for the summer. ๐Ÿ™‚ Glad you had a good week with time to yourself and good books.

Leave a Reply

