Girl Time

For the last few months, I have been bonding with my oldest in a new way. Some of you may already do this, but my hope is to encourage anyone who needs it.

Lauren and I have been going on dates together. We have gotten coffee, shopped at the mall, and walked through the park. It is so much fun for both of us! When I asked if she wanted to start this, she leaped at the chance. As much as she loves her little sister, she longs for time with just me. She also likes feeling more grown up.

From the beginning, we have laughed more and shared more. There is something freeing about sitting somewhere other than the kitchen table or Lauren’s bedroom together. She feels more like opening up to me. As much time as I have spent with her for 11 years, she still seems to save tidbits for me during these outings.

coffeedate

It’s not just her sharing stories from her life or day at school, but I am telling her more. The more she grows up, the more important it is becoming for me to tell her things I have gone through. I can tell her how to act all I want, but she listens more when I tell her about mistakes I have made. (You know, the one or two I made growing up…) Sharing my struggles, flaws, and the consequences I face tell her about the real world a little at a time.

We talk about her friendships a lot. My poor child is learning so much about what she wants and doesn’t want in a friend and is learning how to be a good friend. Together, side by side, we are sorting through the pieces she brings me. The puzzle becomes a little clearer to her with each event. I can’t keep her heart from breaking or her tears from falling, but I can be there to help put it all back in place.

One day I will look back at the years I had with my girls. I hope to remember them with smiles and fondness and not regret over the time I missed. I hope you will too.

Linking with Holley Gerth

8 thoughts on “Girl Time

  1. This is a beautiful idea! My daughter is 10 and while she loves doing things together as a family, there’s something fun and “grown up” about getting to go out of the house with me and for us to spend time together. It’s a nice way to start to deepen the relationship!
    Stopping by from Holley Gerth’s site. πŸ™‚

    1. It really does start being necessary when they get to a certain age. My 8 year old doesn’t want to go with just me, but the 11 year old can’t get enough! πŸ™‚

  2. What a gift you share together. It will last a lifetime. One day, the transition from mother to friend will emerge and you’re giving it a solid foundation.

  3. Sarah,
    Spending time with your girls, especially one-on-one is priceless and making memories they will treasure is a beautiful legacy you’re giving to them — and modeling how they will interact with friends and daughters and all those who step into their lives in the future! xo

  4. Good For You Both! I have four kids and I try to do this for all of them but I have found it is very difficult with my twins. My son and I go on dates where we watch or do “man” stuff since he is being raised around all girls. I recently took all of my girls to a painting class individually. Good Times.

Leave a Reply

