What I Know About Good Dads

As a woman, I will never be a dad. Fortunately for me, I have a great dad and am married to a man who is a great dad. So in case you were wondering where my authority comes from, there it is!

Becoming a father is easy. Raising a secure and kind child into a functioning adult takes daily work from both parents. There are no sick days or do overs. Parenting is the most vital job out there, so dads should never underestimate their significance.

One thing I know about the best dads is that they value presence over presents. They spend time with their child and build a relationship. They listen to what the child says and teach them the things they know. My Dad and I have always been close. Even though he traveled when I was growing up, when he was home he was home. He played with us on the floor. He took us places. The picture below is from a race Dad and I ran when I was 7. When we did activities that were just about us and the time we spent together, I was happiest and most secure in my childhood.

IMG_7370

My husband teaches our girls lots of things. He and our oldest cook together, and he takes both of them to the tennis courts to play. When he is building some new furniture, he often involves them and shows them how to do whatever he is doing. He may not be perfect, but he is here and shows us that he wants to be here.

The other mark I know of a great dad is that they show their love. Not all of them wear their heart on their sleeve, but they show their love in tangible ways. My Dad tells me that he loves me and is proud of me. Those words have gotten me through many tough days. My husband is affectionate and our girls never doubt that he loves them. I have always been around hugs, kisses and the words “I love you,” and I wouldn’t change a thing. They have shaped me into the compassionate woman I am today, and I know they will do the same for my girls.

FullSizeRender (35)

Kids need love and support from their dads. They need to feel loved as they grow so their self confidence can blossom. The good thing about this is that it is never too late to be a good dad. Even someone who has not done their best can start showing up and loving well.

For all the awesome dads out there, please know that the world needs you and so do your children. I hope you have a wonderful week and feel as cherished as you are!

Linking with Holley Gerth

8 thoughts on “What I Know About Good Dads

  1. Sarah, thank you for your kind words. You have always been an easy child to love. I thank you for your continuing commitment to follow the Lord. That has always been the prayer that we have prayed for you.

    Regarding the picture, and the race that we ran, I have great memories of the joy we had together that day.

    Keep on being a good wife and mother. Your example to your family and to many others is very inspirational.

    I love you and I am proud of you.

    Dad

    1. And you and Mom made it easy to love others.Thank you for your example and for showing me the kind of man to choose to spend my life with.
      I love you and hope you have a wonderful weekend!

  2. What a sweet tribute to two special men in your life. Seeing your dad comment is more evidence of his involvement in your life even today. May God continue to pour his blessings on you and your family.

  3. Ok, seriously – your dad’s comment had me in tears. I didn’t grow up with a father who understood his role or responsibility, and it’s by the grace of God my life didn’t go sideways as a result. I think it’s part of what attracted me to my husband’s kindness and love. I’m so blessed by his steady hand and loving heart toward our son, and you are so right his influence has most certainly also shaped me in so many ways. Happy Father’s Day to both the great men in your life.

Leave a Reply

