What Sea Turtles Taught Me About Purpose

When you think about turtles, what comes to mind? They are slow and clunky. Walking is awkward. Maybe you think of the tortoise beating the hare because slow and steady wins the race. Well, let me tell you sea turtles are amazing in the water!

While on Maui last week, we saw many turtles in the water. After swimming with sea turtles, a fact that I will bring up in every conversation for the rest of my life, I have developed a fascination with them. Who would have thought I would see (get it?) turtles as graceful? Not me!

The first day our family was near turtles, we were practicing snorkeling for our official snorkeling the next day. I was closest to our 11 year old, Lauren. Suddenly she made a noise and pointed. I turned, and a big, beautiful turtle was about to swim past me. He (she?) calmly swam a few feet from me while I freaked out. A turtle! In the water! Right there! It got so close to James and Kaitlyn that it touched them. I was amazed. This creature was in its element.

The next day, we saw several turtles from a little farther away and it was no less amazing. The day after that, we were in front of our condo where many must have lived. They swam by us and we were mesmerized. When Lauren was in the water, she would swim along with them. It never got old.

IMG_8197.JPG

When I am fulfilling my purpose and doing what God created me to do, I am like those sea turtles. It comes more naturally than the times I do something because I “think” I am supposed to do it. When I do something because “someone has to do it,” it is like watching a turtle on land. It can be almost painful to watch because I am stepping in someone’s shoes that I was never meant to fill.

I am here to do things in a way that no one else does them. You are here to do other things that you do well. When we do that and stay in our lanes, it is like magic to watch. People can’t take their eyes off of us, because there is grace and dignity in the way we move. We are here for a purpose, and when we figure out what that is, we are infused with confidence.

Maybe it is just me, but I want to do what comes naturally to me. I don’t want to work or volunteer somewhere because I think I should. I don’t want a hobby because other people around me do it. I want to do things that were made for me and I for them. Gliding through the water sounds much better than slogging along land that takes more effort. I want to be a sea turtle. Or maybe I just want to live at the beach!

Linking with Holley Gerth

9 thoughts on “What Sea Turtles Taught Me About Purpose

  1. Thank you for sharing this lovely post filled with so much wisdom. Your post caught my eye because my son lived in Hawaii at one time, and I was blessed to be able to visit him there on three occasions.The beauty of Hawaii truly is close to Heaven on earth!

  2. Hi Sarah! I am first time visitor to your blog. Thank you for sharing so thoughtful message. A very good example to understand what purpose of life is all about. Many blessings to you dear Friend!

  3. I needed to hear these words today! I pray to follow God’s calling on my life and to fulfill the purpose He has created me to fulfill. I also want to glide! Thank you for sharing!

  4. It must have been amazing to get to swim with the sea turtles! And I love the lesson you bring out- everything is much more graceful and effortless if we are concentrating on being who we were made to be, rather than trying to be something we’re not.

Leave a Reply

