Beautiful In Its Time

My girls are in their second week of school. They started July 31! Let that sink in. My school where I serve lunch started this week. Where did summer go? And how do I already have a middle schooler?

IMG_8520

Time, y’all. It goes so fast. One minute I was a kid and the next thing I knew, I had a kid. Then another. Then one started school and then the other. They keep learning and growing. They enjoy helping in the kitchen sometimes and they are usually fun to be around. Time goes by in the blink of an eye.

When I think of time passing, I think of Ecclesiastes 3 and how there is a time for everything. A time to weep and a time to laugh. A time to keep and a time to throw away. A time to be silent and a time to speak. (We certainly have done all these things this summer!) But I think my favorite verse in this passage is verse 11. “He has made everything beautiful in its time.” That certainly applies to my children!

My life is becoming beautiful but it has definitely had ugly moments. God has been working on me and He keeps refining those rough edges. I don’t always know what is coming up ahead, but God does. He is working it all together so that my life can have the most meaning and can influence more people.

Living isn’t easy. Days, months, and even years are in valleys that don’t make sense at the time. Why would God allow this to happen? He is making me beautiful. Why did I lose that family member or that job that I thought was perfect for me? He is making me beautiful. He is sifting my heart and bringing to light those thoughts and attitudes that need adjusting. Sometimes it is only in those seemingly awful moments that I find clarity and I cling to God harder than I had. He knows that.

Who am I that I presume to know what is best for me? Did I create the universe? Did I have a plan that I set into motion before the beginning of time? Really, I am just along for the ride and not the ride operator like I presume.

What is becoming evident to me is that I need to hold my plans loosely so I can change them easily when I need to. God’s plan for my life is so much better than anything I could come up with. When I let myself believe that, and I don’t fight the changes, everything works out. Worrying over what might happen will do no good, so why worry?

When I get to the end of my days, I want to be able to look back and see the beauty created by God. I want to see that even those times that seemed like the worst served a purpose greater than I could have imagined. The way God works is always better than the way I think it should be. I want to live out that belief.

Linking with Holley Gerth

8 thoughts on “Beautiful In Its Time

  1. I’m still asking myself that question, “Where did it go?” and my youngest will be 40 this year! God gives us 18 summers with our people – make them count. Neighbors at Holley’s.

  2. “The way God works is always better than the way I think it should be.” I need to remind myself of that. I can easily think I know better but the times when I have seen God work something beautiful out of messy circumstances remind me to trust that he knows what he’s doing.

  3. Sarah, I’m with you on how quickly time passes! My oldest heads off to his freshman year in high school next week. I can’t believe it! I remember counting each tiny finger for the first time like it was yesterday.

    I liked this: “I want to see that even those times that seemed like the worst served a purpose greater than I could have imagined. The way God works is always better than the way I think it should be. ”

    May we both live with an eternal perspective, even when we’re in the midst of hard seasons. May we choose to remember that God is working, even when we can’t see Him.

    Great post!

Leave a Reply

